

West Suffolk Council

Rural settlement list 2024-25

(under section 42A of the Local Government Finance Act 1988)

Businesses located within the areas of West Suffolk Council shown in the second column below are deemed to be within a rural settlement – meaning they had a population of less than 3000 at 31 December 2023.

All settlement boundaries are as set out in Forest Heath Local Plan Policies Map 2017 (page 3 of the Local Policies Plan Map Book):

https://www.westsuffolk.gov.uk/planning/Planning Policies/local plans/upload/Local-Plan-Policies-Map-Book-Proposed-Submission-2017.pdf

and St Edmundsbury Local Plan Policies Map 2015:

https://www.westsuffolk.gov.uk/planning/Planning_Policies/local_plans/upload/E-SEBC-Local-Plan-Policies-Map-Feb2015.pdf



Civic Parish	Areas that are defined as "rural settlements"
Ampton + Little Livermere + Timworth	All areas
Bardwell	All areas
Barnardiston	All areas
Barnham	All areas
Barningham	All areas
Barrow	All areas
Barton Mills	All areas
Beck Row, Holywell Row and Kenny Hill	All areas outside the Beck Row settlement boundary
Bradfield Combust with Stanningfield	All areas
Bradfield St. Clare	All areas
Bradfield St. George	All areas
Brandon and Wangford	All areas outside the Brandon settlement boundary
Brockley	All areas
Bury St Edmunds	All areas outside the Bury St Edmunds settlement boundary
Cavendish	All areas
Cavenham	All areas
Chedburgh	All areas
Chevington	All areas
Clare	All areas
Coney Weston	All areas
Cowlinge	All areas
Culford	All areas
Dalham	All areas
Denham	All areas
Denston	All areas
Depden	All areas
Elveden	All areas
Eriswell	All areas
Euston	All areas



Civic Parish	Areas that are defined as "rural settlements"
Exning	All areas
Fakenham Magna	All areas
Flempton	All areas
Fornham All Saints	All areas
Fornham St. Martin + Fornham St. Genevieve	All areas
Freckenham	All areas
Gazeley	All areas
Great Barton	All areas
Great Bradley + Little Bradley	All areas
Great Livermere	All areas
Great Thurlow	All areas
Great Whelnetham	All areas
Great Wratting	All areas
Hargrave	All areas
Haverhill	All areas outside the Haverhill settlement boundary
Hawkedon	All areas
Hawstead	All areas
Hengrave	All areas
Hepworth	All areas
Herringswell	All areas
Higham	All areas
Honington	All areas
Hopton + Knettishall	All areas
Horringer + Ickworth	All areas
Hundon	All areas
Icklingham	All areas
Ingham	All areas
Ixworth + Ixworth Thorpe	All areas
Kedington	All areas



Civic Parish	Areas that are defined as "rural settlements"
Kentford	All areas
Lackford	All areas
Lakenheath	All areas outside the Lakenheath settlement boundary
Lidgate	All areas
Little Thurlow	All areas
Little Whelnetham	All areas
Little Wratting	All areas
Market Weston	All areas
Mildenhall	All areas outside the Mildenhall settlement boundary
Moulton	All areas
Newmarket	All areas outside the Newmarket settlement boundary
Nowton	All areas
Ousden	All areas
Pakenham	All areas
Poslingford	All areas
Rede	All areas
Red Lodge	All areas outside the Red Lodge settlement boundary
Risby	All areas
Rushbrooke with Rougham	All areas
Santon Downham	All areas
Sapiston	All areas
Stansfield	All areas
Stanton	All areas
Stoke-by-Clare	All areas
Stradishall	All areas
The Saxhams	All areas
Thelnetham	All areas
Troston	All areas
Tuddenham	All areas



Civic Parish	Areas that are defined as "rural settlements"
West Row	All areas
West Stow + Wordwell	All areas
Westley	All areas
Whepstead	All areas
Wickhambrook	All areas
Withersfield	All areas
Wixoe	All areas
Worlington	All areas