2017 No. 118

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The St Edmundsbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 8*th February* 2017

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2), (3) and (4)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(a) St Edmundsbury Borough Council made recommendations to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) for the related alteration of the boundaries of wards within that Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of that Act:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the St Edmundsbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.

(2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.

(3) Article 2 and Schedule 1 come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(c) in 2019.

(4) Article 3 and Schedule 2 come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2017.

(5) In this Order, "the 2016 Order" means the St Edmundsbury (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016(\mathbf{d}).

⁽a) 2007 c.28 ("the 2007 Act"). Section 92 was amended by the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽c) The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50).

⁽d) The St Edmundsbury (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016 was made by St Edmundsbury Borough Council under section 86(2) of the 2007 Act. Orders of this kind are not required to be made by statutory instrument.

Related alterations of borough ward boundaries

2.—(1) The areas that cease to be part of the parishes listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1 and become part of the parishes listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the 2016 Order, cease to be part of the borough wards listed in the third column of that table and become part of the borough wards listed in the fourth column of that table.

(2) In this article "borough ward" means a ward established by article 2 of the Borough of St Edmundsbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2001(a).

Related alterations of electoral division boundaries

3.—(1) The areas that cease to be part of the parishes listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 2 and become part of the parishes listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the 2016 Order, cease to be part of the electoral divisions listed in the third column of that table and become part of the electoral divisions listed in the fourth column of that table.

(2) In this article "electoral division" means a division established by article 3 of the Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order $2016(\mathbf{b})$.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



8th February 2017

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

Related alterations of borough ward boundaries

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3	Column 4
From parish	To parish	From borough ward	To borough ward
Fornham All Saints	Bury St. Edmunds	Fornham	St. Olaves
Westley	Bury St. Edmunds	Barrow	Minden
Bury St. Edmunds	Rushbrooke with Rougham	Moreton Hall	Rougham
Great Barton	Rushbrooke with Rougham	Great Barton	Rougham
Rushbrooke with Rougham	Great Barton	Rougham	Great Barton
Rushbrooke with Rougham	Bury St. Edmunds	Rougham	Moreton Hall
Nowton	Bury St. Edmunds	Horringer & Whelnetham	Southgate

(a) S.I. 2001/3895.

(**b**) S.I. 2016/1222.

Nowton	Rushbrooke with Rougham	Horringer & Whelnetham	Rougham
Little Wratting	Haverhill	Withersfield	Haverhill East
Kedington	Haverhill	Kedington	Haverhill East
Poslingford	Clare	Cavendish	Clare

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

Related alterations of electoral division boundaries

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3	Column 4
From parish	To parish	From electoral	To electoral division
		division	
Fornham All Saints	Bury St. Edmunds	Thingoe North	Tower
Westley	Bury St. Edmunds	Thingoe South	Tower
Bury St. Edmunds	Rushbrooke with	Eastgate & Moreton	Thingoe South
	Rougham	Hall	
Great Barton	Rushbrooke with	Thingoe North	Thingoe South
	Rougham		
Rushbrooke with	Great Barton	Thingoe South	Thingoe North
Rougham			
Rushbrooke with	Bury St. Edmunds	Thingoe South	Eastgate & Moreton
Rougham			Hall
Nowton	Bury St. Edmunds	Thingoe South	Hardwick
Little Wratting	Haverhill	Clare	Haverhill East &
			Kedington

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by St Edmundsbury Borough Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of the boundaries of borough wards in the Borough of St Edmundsbury and electoral divisions in the County of Cambridgeshire. The alterations are related to parish boundary changes made by the St Edmundsbury (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016.

The new borough ward boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

The new electoral division boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 2 alters the borough wards of Fornham, St. Olaves, Barrow, Minden, Moreton Hall, Rougham, Great Barton, Horringer & Whelnetham, Southgate, Withersfield, Haverhill East, Kedington, Cavendish and Clare.

Article 3 alters the electoral divisions of Thingoe North, Tower, Thingoe South, Eastgate & Moreton Hall, Hardwick, Clare and Haverhill East and Kedington.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

[©] Crown copyright 2017

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/118

UK201702081001 02/2017 19585

£4.25

