The chair is elected by the council annually.  The chair presides over all council meetings and also represents the district at social, charitable and civic functions.

The chair for the civic year (May 2019 to May 2020) is Councillor Brian Harvey and Vice-Chair is Councillor Margaret Marks.

Civic events 2020

Freedoms and Aldermen

Any Freedoms and Aldermen status granted by Forest Heath District Council or St Edmundsbury Borough Council were transferred to the West Suffolk Council on 1 April 2019.  Forest Heath awarded Freedom of the District to Nigel Roman on 20 March 2019.  A list of those who were awarded Freedom status or Alderman status by St Edmundsbury Borough Council, and its predecessor councils is available here: Admissions to the Freedom of the Borough