About elections

General elections

The elections to the UK Parliament usually take place every five years.

The UK Parliament is made up of two ‘houses’ – the House of Commons and the House of Lords. The House of Commons has 650 Members of Parliament (MPs) each of whom represents a constituency (a part of the UK) and the House of Lords has over 700 unelected members and their role is to scrutinise the work of the House of Commons.

This area is covered by three parliamentary constituencies:

  • Bury St Edmunds constituency
  • South Suffolk constituency
  • West Suffolk constituency.

For more details visit Your MPs

Local government elections

Local government elections take place every four years. Local elections take place to select office-holders in local government, such as councillors in county, borough, district, town and parish councils.

The next elections to West Suffolk Council will take place on 4 May 2023.

West Suffolk has 117 parishes or parish wards. Details of the parishes and parish wards in West Suffolk can be found in the Parish Council Directory. The next town and parish council elections will take on 4 May 2023.

The next elections to Suffolk County Council will take place on 1 May 2025.

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

There are 41 Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) in England and Wales. Police and Crime Commissioner elections take place every four years. West Suffolk is represented by the Suffolk Police and Crime Commissioner. For more  details visit: Suffolk Police and Crime Commissioner.

The next elections for a Police and Crime Commissioner for Suffolk will take place on 2 May 2024.


A referendum is a method of referring a question or set of questions to the entire electorate directly.

Previous referendums in the UK include:

  • 5 May 2011 - Referendum on whether to change the voting system for electing MPs to the House of Commons from first past the post to the alternative vote.
  • 23 June 2016 - Referendum on the UK's membership of the European Union.